
Ok so everyone in the US Army knows that Thursdays are for Training or in some circles it's known as "Sergeants Time". Normally this type of training is blocked off so that you can have 4-5 hours of uninterrupted training. Physical Training is rarely done on this day UNLESS it is a part of the training. Normal units start PT around 0600-0630 (ours varies between 0415-0530 but I will cover that in detail later). Sergeants time usually Army wide starts at 0700.
Well wouldn't you know that somehow, someway the Officers got involved. Well we all know that once that happens you can EXPECT some kind of fuckery to take place. So here we have the issue of the Headquarters Element in any unit. Normally it will be made up of various offices that work at the Battalion or higher level. Now the Commander of the HQ Company is usually still just a Captain. Well because it is at Battalion level or higher, just about everyone to include the secretary is more important than the Commander. Harsh reality but oh-so-true. Well of course when you feel as if you are the heel every now and then you want to try to step on the toe.
Now within the various offices I will say that approximately 100% of the individuals that work in these offices can give a damn less what the Commander wants. Once again, harsh but true. Usually it's because we have actual jobs that require time. Time that is precious and shouldn't be subjected to your petulant tirade to show that you are indeed "El Captain". So because there are offices that give the morning formation the middle finger (as we all REALLY want to as PT now a Joke of EPIC proportions) the Commander decides that he as a bright idea. We will do PT on Thursdays since some of the "S" shops don't show up. THEN we will go straight from PT into the Thursday training.
Now there are a few problems with this that came about this morning. Here is where the Do as I say not as I do comes in. This new activity was conceived by the Commander who has YET to show up to any formation this week. So not only do we now have an extra day of the Tom Fuckery known as PRT (Physical Readiness Training) but we have another day to watch the Commander blow off HIS own Company formation.
Now this activity is facilitated by the 1SG who by all accounts in a NORMAL unit would be the voice of reason, however in this unit he is an ENABLER of all things wrong. He is akin to a parent that knows their child has a drug problem but still gives him the $100 allowance every week. He actually holds the formation for the Commander. Now this is the best part. He comes over to our formation and does accountability by memory (which is never a good thing). Once all of the USUAL SUSPECTS are accounted for, they somehow seem to.......................disappear. Poof! Gone before we even start PT and the best part is the 1SG is right behind them. That's right. Double Poof! So the only ones that are there are the ones that are ALWAYS there in the first place. Now, did I confuse you...........I know at this point I am as confused as I have ever been in my 19 year career.
EVERY Leadership publication that I have seen in the Army has always ALWAYS said to LEAD BY EXAMPLE. BE, KNOW & DO. So this is why this is such a problem for me. How can you tell me to be in formation every day and you be conspicuously absent? This isn't an instant where he is the Manager at Wal-Mart and I am the stock guy. This is the ARMY, Lead from the FRONT. We spill the same blood in the same mud. Sometimes I want to sit them all down and make them watch "We Were Soldiers" with Mel Gibson and Sam Elliott until they get it. UGHHHHHH!!!
Now before we were blessed to have the 1SG come over to our formation for "memory accountability", he had to give us a warning. Now I will go ahead and let you know that if you are in the Army and reading this, it's gonna sting a bit to read the next few lines.
Here is the Speech at 0530:
"Ok listen up. I know we have NCO's that want to do the right thing, but under no circumstances are you to correct an MOSI (Trainee) Soldier. I know you might outrank them but don't say anything to them that might cause a confrontation. What you need to do if you see someone doing wrong is get their name, unit and Commanders name and then come back and tell me and I will handle it. You have to know what type of environment you are in."
Excuse me? What the FUCK did he just say? Did he just tell me that as an NCO I cannot correct a Private without his intervention? You have got to be Shitting me!!!
Now there is a GLARING problem with this entire scenario. First, he can't even commit to his job of keeping the Commander from making irrational, emotional and foolhardy decisions. Second, if I ask a Soldier for said information what is to stop him from a plain and simple "Fuck you Sergeant". Let me run this down for you:
Soldier is walking down the street with no headgear, hands in his pocket and throws an empty bottle on the ground.
Me: "Hey Soldier, pick that bottle up, take your hands out of your pocket and where is your headgear?"
Soldier: "Pick up what Sergeant" (as he still has hands in his pocket)
Me: Don't play stupid (cause they usually do) that bottle you just threw on the ground and get your hands out of your pocket.
Soldier: "I don't know what you are talking about."
Me: (trying to now use the 1SG's technique) What Company are you in and what is your Commander's name?"
Soldier: "I ain't telling you shit Sergeant"
Me: (Forced at that point to either A. Put my career on the line for "helping" him correct himself or B. Walking away mumbling under my breath defeated by a Private.
Yea, that's really going to work out just fine. Oh well..........Welcome to the NEW Army. Never have I heard that I can no longer correct a Soldier without supervision. They might as well cut out the middleman and just have us castrated in Basic Training.
Bullshit-o-meter score for this action is a fucking 11. (For OBVIOUS reasons!!!)







